Thursday May 10th, 2012 – Edinburgh Conference

I didn’t do much from a tourism perspective on this day. The weather was completely uninspiring. Pouring rain and cold, only +5 to +7 C. I did walk around the area of the New Town with my camera, but didn’t take any pictures. I was planning to go to the National Museum of Scotland, but it was closed due to a strike. I probably should have gone to the Cathedral since I was there the other day, but didn’t take any photos then either. I started to get hungry at 12:30 so I walked to the COOP store and bought pasta for lunch. I went back to the apartment, made lunch and a cup of coffee.
After lunch I got my journal caught up as I was missing two days, then got ready for tonight’s banquet. Once ready, I left at about 4:30 and took the number 30 bus to the Commonwealth Pool and walked to the John McIntyre building where the ICNIRP Conference was being held. I was about 45 minutes early and sat through a couple of speakers with Lois, but it was pretty boring when you don’t know what they’re talking about.
For the dinner we all (about 150 of us) took charter buses to the Botanical gardens. While we were there, we met a Mr. Ash, a young Welshman who likes (of course) rugby and knew someone that works for Terrence Mathews, CEO of Zarlink. I mentioned the name because I knew he came from Wales. Nick Ash designs lasers as well as works for the University of Wales. We were also talking to a Mrs. Keep who works for the health and safety department of the U.K. Government. We had broad topics of discussion among us including sports, invasive species, the world economy etc.
The charter bus dropped us off at the Botanical Gardens about 8:00 PM and we left about 10:30. The bus dropped us off near Waterloo so we walked down Princes street towards our apartment. We were with another lady who was alone so we walked her to her hotel which wasn’t far and then headed to our apartment. We got a look at an old stone church and Edinburgh Castle on the way. We got in the door about 11:30 PM.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

